Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter and get the Evidence-Based Eating Guide: A Healthy Living Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

DESCRIPTION: Antioxidant intake from foods (not supplements) is associated with lower cancer risk.

But should we take a multivitamin? See Should We Take a Multivitamin?(http://nutritionfacts.org/video/should-we-take-a-multivitamin) 🙂

What about fish oil supplements? Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-fish-oil-just-snake-oil)

I recently covered how and why we should strive to eat antioxidants with every meal in an important three-part series:

1. Minimum “Recommended Daily Allowance” of Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/minimum-recommended-daily-allowance-of-antioxidants/)
2. How to Reach the Antioxidant “RDA” (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reach-the-antioxidant-rda/)
3. Antioxidant Rich Foods With Every Meal (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-rich-foods-with-every-meal/)

Preferentially getting one’s nutrients from produce not pills is a common theme in the nutrition literature. See, for example:

• Are Iron Pills Good for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-iron-pills-good-for-you/)
• Can Folic Acid Be Harmful? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-folic-acid-be-harmful/)
• Produce, Not Pills to Increase Physical Attractiveness (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/produce-not-pills-to-increase-physical-attractiveness/)
• Greens vs. Glaucoma (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/greens-vs-glaucoma/)
• Cranberries versus Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cranberries-versus-cancer/)
• Prunes vs. Metamucil vs. Vegan Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-vs-metamucil-vs-vegan-diet/)
• Optimal Phytosterol Source (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/optimal-phytosterol-source/)

Antioxidants may also slow aging (http://nutritionfacts.org/videos/mitochondrial-theory-of-aging/), reduce inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-antioxidants/), improve digestion (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bulking-up-on-antioxidants/), and help prevent COPD (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-copd-with-diet/). So where are antioxidants found? See my series that starts with Antioxidant Content of 3139 Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-content-of-3139-foods/) and Antioxidant Power of Plant Foods Versus Animal Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-power-of-plant-foods-versus-animal-foods/).

What about the role of antioxidants in other leading causes of death? That’s the subject of my next video, Food Antioxidants, Stroke, and Heart Disease.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-antioxidants-and-cancer/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Leave a Reply

Let us help fight cancer. Share your knowledge.

About

Latest news, views, insights and trends on cancer treatment, discovery and support

Navigation